romanesca 17.jpg

Our Story

We are a family Domaine which was just passed on to the second generation, Antoine & Olivier Chastel (twin brothers) & Lucrèce Bruyant, Olivier’s wife. The three of us are now in charge of Domaine Romanesca, following the steps of Guy & Ferréole Chastel, the twins’ parents. We now have the pleasure to take care of 7 hectares of some of the best plots in the cru Moulin-à-Vent, guided by the principles of sustainable farming.

After quitting our non wine-related jobs in Lyon, we decided to bring new ideas to the family Domaine in the heart of the Beaujolais region. Starting with the cru Moulin-à-Vent, we have expanded our wine range with the cru Fleurie, cru Juliénas and Beaujolais Villages cuvées (red, rosé & soon white) . We wish to keep the momentum and we hope to produce a lovely cru Morgon very soon.

Our Philosophy

In our early 30s, we wish to maintain ancient work techniques while bringing a fresh air to Domaine Romanesca. We are in the process of converting the Domaine into a certified organic estate. This goal is a very obvious one to us: we want to take care of people’s health (including ours) & of Mother Nature.

Our philosophy is to work at a plot (single vineyard) level in order to reveal the specific characteristics of each climat. We want to promote single vineyard cuvées aged in oak-barrels in order to produce fine wines with great aging potential.

We hope to sell our wines directly to customers, to welcome many visitors to our Domaine for memorable tastings and to take part in wine exhibitions all along the year to make people discover our wines.

romanesca 138 copie.jpg
romanesca 25.jpg

A Unique Terroir... An Ancient Tradition

Wine growing started a long time ago in the Beaujolais. Julius Caesar and his legions introduced the cultivation of vitis vinifera to our beautiful region. Along the strategic Roman road linking Lugdunum (Lyon, then the capital of Gaul) to the North Sea, the first vineyards were planted around the gallo-roman villas built in Romanesca (Romanèche). Later on, in the third century, wine amphoras from Romanesca - already famous for its wine - were transported by boat to Lyon on the Saône river.

Throughout the centuries, vineyards cultivation was maintained in Romanèche-Thorins.

Picking up the Roman torch passed to us on this historical & exceptional terroir in 2019, we have the desire to valorize this heritage by bringing in our own breath of modernity.

Our Conversion to Organic Farming

Following Guy Chastel, who already practiced sustainable farming, we are in the processing of having our entire Domaine organic-certified. It is an obvious choice to protect human beings’ health and the local environment (water, soil, air and biodiversity).

We are jacks of all trade and we are not afraid of using new equipments and techniques in order to make our estate green. We want to be proud to produce organic wines & feel that wine lovers appreciate our work and products.

Our philosophy is to work with single vineyards plots in order to reveal the special characteristics of each climat, to deliver the full potential of ours vines - some of which are more than 50 years old. We work with high density vineyards and use an ancestral pruning technique called taille en gobelet. With strong competition between each vine, we get low yield but high quality grapes. Le palissage (a canopy management technique) enables vines to dry faster. It also helps them to gain greater sun exposure and aeration.

We are using typical Beaujolais wine-making & fermentation techniques with individualized attention for each tank to ensure the singularity of each cuvée. Some of our cuvées are aged in oak-barrels.

Currently in our second year of organic conversion (2019), the domaine Romanesca will have to wait until the 2022 harvest in order to be able to use the organic certified label.

romanesca 12.jpg
logo VI plein.jpg

romanesca 17.jpg

Notre Histoire

Nous sommes une propriété familiale depuis 2 générations dont la transmission se perpétue aujourd’hui avec Antoine & Olivier (frères jumeaux) et Lucrèce, la femme d’Olivier. Nous assurons désormais l’avenir du domaine à la suite de Guy et Ferréole Chastel, les parents des garçons. Ils nous ont transmis 7 hectares des plus belles vignes du cru Moulin-à-Vent, cultivées en agriculture raisonnée.

Après des carrières dans des domaines très différents de la viticulture à Lyon, nous avons souhaité donner un nouveau souffle à ce patrimoine en plein cœur des crus du Beaujolais. En plus du Moulin-à-Vent, nous avons étoffé la gamme des vins avec les crus Fleurie, Juliénas, Morgon ainsi que des Beaujolais Villages en rouge et rosé. Le Domaine Romanesca ne s'est pas arrêté là et a planté une parcelle de Beaujolais Villages blanc en avril 2020.

Notre Philosophie

Jeunes trentenaires, nous souhaitons conserver les méthodes de travail des générations précédentes et apporter une touche de renouveau au Domaine Romanesca avec la conversion en agriculture biologique de l’ensemble du domaine. Cette démarche nous paraît évidente pour préserver la santé de tous des produits phytosanitaires de synthèse et prendre soin de l’environnement.

Notre philosophie est de travailler au niveau parcellaire pour dégager des caractéristiques propres à chaque climat. Nous assurons aussi la promotion de cuvées parcellaires élevées en fûts, afin de produire des vins de garde d’excellence.

Nous souhaitons valoriser nos produits via la vente directe, accueillir de nombreux clients à la propriété et participer à des salons tout au long de l’année pour faire découvrir nos vins.

romanesca 138 copie.jpg
romanesca 25.jpg

Un terroir d’exception...Une tradition ancestrale

La vigne est cultivée en Beaujolais depuis des temps reculés. Ce sont Jules César et ses légions qui ont apporté la culture de la vitis vinifera dans notre belle région. Sur la grande voie romaine stratégique reliant Lugdunum (Lyon, alors capitale des Gaules) à la mer du Nord, les premières vignes sont plantées autour des villas gallo-romaines édifiées à Romanesca (Romanèche). Plus tard, au IIIe siècle, des amphores de vins de Romanesca, déjà réputés, sont transportées à Lyon par bateaux sur la Saône.

Au fil des siècles, la culture de la vigne s’est maintenue à Romanèche-Thorins. Ayant repris le flambeau romain sur ce terroir historique d’exception en 2019, nous avons a coeur de valoriser ce patrimoine en lui apportant notre souffle de modernité.

Conversion au Bio

À la suite de Guy Chastel, déjà en agriculture raisonnée, nous avons décidé de convertir l’ensemble du domaine à l’agriculture biologique et n’envisagions pas les choses autrement. Cette démarche nous paraît évidente pour préserver notre santé de viticulteurs et celle de nos proches des produits phytosanitaires de synthèse et prendre soin de l’environnement (eau, sols, air, biodiversité).

 

Nous sommes un peu des touche-à-tout et l’utilisation de matériel spécifique ne nous fait pas peur puisque nous aimons relever des défis techniques. Nous avons à cœur de retrouver la fierté de produire des aliments bons et sains et de recevoir la reconnaissance des consommateurs en retour. Nous souhaitons nous émanciper de certaines décisions sur l’exploitation issues de conseillers technico-commerciaux, et bénéficier de prix justes et rémunérateurs.

Notre philosophie est de travailler au niveau parcellaire pour dégager des caractéristiques propres à chaque climat (terroir viticole d’une parcelle), avec des vignes pour certaines âgées de 50 ans. Nous travaillons des vignes de haute densité en gobelet avec une forte concurrence entre les ceps, d’où des rendements faibles mais une meilleure qualité de raisin. Le palissage permet aussi à la vigne de sécher plus vite. Il assure aussi un meilleur ensoleillement et une bonne aération.

Nous pratiquons une vinification traditionnelle de nos beaujolais, avec un travail sur chaque cuve qui assure la typicité des vins du domaine. De plus, certaines cuvées sont élevées en fûts de chêne.

Actuellement en seconde année de conversion (2020), le domaine Romanesca doit patienter jusqu’aux vendanges 2022 pour mentionner la qualité bio de ses cuvées.

romanesca 12.jpg
logo VI plein.jpg